Tuzigoot National Monument was established to preserve the buildings of the Sinaqua Indians. These people began building around 1100 AD and eventually expanded the pueblo to include 110 rooms, including second and third story structures. In 1932, Earl Jones lead a survey party through the area bringing national attention to the site. The next year, the Arizona State Museum and the Yavapi County Chamber of Commerce Archaeological Committee sponsored excavations at Tuzigoot under the direction of archeologists Louis R. Caywood and Edward H. Spicer. This work continued under various Great Depression relief programs. On July 25, 1939, the entire hill of Tuzigoot and its complete museum and collections were donated to the federal government by the Verde School District. That very day, Tuzigoot National Monument was established by a presidential proclamation.
Since the monument’s inception, archeologists have been crucial to preserving the structure. At one point in the past, archeologists used cement to stabilize the structure. In the modern era, one of archeologists’ major projects is their involvement in work to remove the cement. The, now, outdated treatment of using cement will be replaced with a more preservation- and historically-appropriate mortar. Ultimately, the new preservation technique will lead to a more authentic experience and a stable structure.